Minimalism · Values

Adding Value in May

20170610_131307

The above image is of course, mine.

          The month of May brutally attacked students, spitted out graduates, and left in a whirlwind. In that chaos I found several items which added value to my life, and I’m going to share them with you.  First up is media favorites.           

              Neil Gaiman’s American Gods has dark comedy, history, travel, mythology and adventure. Mysterious carousel rides, coin tricks, leprechauns, even after reading the novel, the audience will have several questions. Read it and create some of your own.       

               Riverdale caught my interest with its diverse cast, intriguing plot and the lovely Cole Sprouse. The Suite Life of Zack and Cody took up most of my youth. The hilarious Sprouse Twins and the accompanying cast never failed to make me laugh with their antics. When I finally found a chance to watch Riverdale, I gobbled it up in three days. Jughead Jones (Cole Sprouse) narrates the tale of Jason Blossom’s murder. The audience follows Archie Andrews, Betty Cooper, Veronica Lodge, and Jughead Jones as they battle their way through slut shaming, song composition, having a father in jail, and sordid family secrets. 

              As I was watching, Cheryl Blossom’s signature red lips caught my attention. I knew that the product came from Covergirl, which tests on animals. Thankfully in the 21st century, there are tons of dupes available and I chose NYX Buttergloss in Apple Crisp. The lasting power is fantastic, the pigmentation a dream, and the smell isn’t bad either. I always pair it with a lip liner for precision application and to minimize bleeding. Speaking of bleeding, Lookout, a Korean drama explores the lengths a mother will go to avenge the death of her child.

             Jo SuJi becomes a vigilante as she watches the boy who murdered her daughter Yoona, slip through the cracks since his father is the chief prosecutor. Together with the Boss, a genius hacker, and a shut-in, they bring justice to dismissed crimes and cases. Action packed and a tear jerker, would highly recommend.

             My final media favorite is the Neighbourhood by Sally’s Garage ft. the Neighbourhood. It’s an atmospheric song not unlike the Neighbourhood’s previous work. The indistinguishable lyrics provide a dreamy atmosphere which is perfect for late night drives.

             Cruelty-free favorites are Colourpop’s Super Shock Shadow in Flutes. and NYX Microbrow pencil. Sichenmakeupholic demoed Flutes and I knew I just had it have it. These days I don’t wear that much eye shadow. I just pop on Flutes in my outer v and slightly under my lash line for a quick contour.

Microbrow provides precision and staying power which lasts through sweat and rain. Highly recommend, even over Anastasia Beverly Hills legendary brow pencil.

         I finally got my Zero Waste Shopping Kit and I couldn’t be happier. Well… it would be nice if all of the bags came with drawstrings, but that’s a minor detail. Initially I worried about the heavy mass of my groceries stretching the bags or creating holes, but so far that hasn’t happened. The kit easy to carry around and perfect for reducing waste and not ending up with a bunch of produce bags I don’t know what to do with. Would highly recommend.

           I hope you find value in some of these products and items as I have.

Flailing through chaos with minimal damage. Chronicles twice a week.

 

 

Leave a Reply

